Koziol Honored With Daisy Faculty Award

CON_Koziol_DanaCollege of Nursing Assistant Professor Dana Koziol, RN, MSN, was named this year’s College of Nursing DAISY Faculty Award recipient.

The DAISY Faculty Award was created by the DAISY Foundation to honor the role that nursing faculty play for their commitment and inspirational influence on their students and future nurses. Faculty, staff, students and alumni can nominate a deserving faculty member for the award.

Koziol was selected for exemplifying the Jesuit values in her every action. “She never shies from addressing hard topics of difficult situations; rather, she thinks through them, considering all sides of the situation,” her nominator says. “Most important, she pays attention to detail in everything she does, putting caring at the forefront of her work.”

Her nominator continued, “Her constant positive, upbeat, and kind words toward me empowered me to do the very best I could. She made me feel welcome and she constantly exemplified the Jesuit Values in her every action, modeling them for me so that I could learn them as well. I now model myself as much as possible after her because I experienced the difference she made for me.”

Koziol and the other nominees were honored at the undergraduate nursing senior reception on May 8. The other nominees included:

Sarah Ball, PhD, RN
Sara Banzhaf, DNP, APRN-NP
Helen Chapple, PhD, RN, MSN
Rhonda Coffman, DNP, APRN
Cindy Costanzo, PhD, RN
Ronnie Faretta, EdD, MSN/ED, RN
Kathy Jorgensen, MSN/MBA, RN-BC
Mandy Kirkpatrick, RN, MSN
Kandis McCafferty, PhD, RN
Heather “Hez” Naylor, MSN, FNP-BC
Christy Seckman, DNP, RN