Zetterman Named to Accreditation Council

Rowen Zetterman, M.D., dean of Creighton University School of Medicine, has been appointed to the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education for a three-year term.

The private, nonprofit council is responsible for evaluating and accrediting more than 8,700 U.S. medical residency programs, representing approximately 130 specialties and subspecialties. Its mission is to improve health care by advancing the quality of education for resident physicians.

Zetterman has served as Creighton’s medical dean since 2009. In 2008, he earned the Berk/Fise Clinical Achievement Award, the highest award from the American College of Gastroenterology (ACG). In 2007, he received the Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service from the American College of Physicians (ACP), the nation’s largest medical specialty organization.